top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLinda

Leroy Sanchez @ The Smiling Buddha

Updated: Jan 25, 2018


A couple years ago I was just browsing through random videos on Youtube when I came across this guy named Leroy Sanchez singing a cover of Beyonce's "Love On Top" and ever since then I became a fan. So when I heard that this Spainish-born artist was going on tour and making a stop in Toronto I bought tickets to his sold out show. I arrived about 2 hours before doors opened and luckily it was one of the coldest nights in the city (hint the sarcasm) so we froze but it was surely worth the wait (and frost bites) because Leroy DELIVERED. The venue was small and it did get a bit tight in there but I'm sure everyone's focus was Leroy on stage serenading everyone in the crowd. He started off the show with an original "Be Alright" which I instantly loved beforehand just from hearing snippets from other people's concert footage. But the most memorable moment of the night (well for me) was when he asked for a request, you could hear a mix of Tori Kelly, Ed Sheeran and Beyonce from the audience, he then proceeded to strumming his guitar and the moment he said "Bring the beat in!" I kid you not...I FREAKED. OUT. It kinda felt like it all came full circle that moment. As the show was coming to an end Leroy took it as an opportunity to share that he would be releasing his EP later this year and gave us a little teaser with a snippet of his single "Man Of The Year". Definitely looking forward to finally hearing more original music from him and seeing his career launch.

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page